University of Calicut

13 August 2020



Phone: +91 494 201144-64 extn 333 

The chair was instituted by the University of Calicut on 20th April 2000 to honour late E.M.S. Namboodiripad and encourage and undertake studies in Marxian Philosophy and Literature. EMS ChairIn order to institute the chair an amount of Rs. 2.5 lakhs was contributed by Calicut University Employees Union and Association of Calicut University Teachers. The chair mainly undertakes two kinds of activities. The first part of education imparted by the chair is to propagate the philosophy of Marxism and Leninism. In this regard a good number of classes, publications and seminars are being conducted. The other one is intended to promote the students of the locality by providing short term courses in computer sciences and allied subjects and help them to prepare for competitive examinations such as UGC, CSIR etc. Shri. P. Asoken is the Co-ordinater.

Some of the important events are the following:




Lecture by Dr. V. Krishnananth, The Hindu, on Globalization and local Development .




A National seminar on Pravasi- their problems and solutions in association with Dubai Arts Lovers Association. The Seminar was inaugurated by the eminent Historian Dr. K.N. Panicker.




National Seminar on India after Gujarath. Anand Patvardhanan, Dr. N. Muthumohan, Sakharia, Balachandran Chullikkad, Dr. Sukumar Azhikode etc are presented papers.




One day seminar on Globalization. Dr. T.M. Thomas Issac presented the Key paper.


10-11, January 2004


Two days workshop on Marxian Philosophy


 5-16, February 2004


Two days course in Marxian Philosophy.




Marxian Darshana


The Chair is publishing a quarterly Marxian Darshanan (malayalam), the annual subscription for one year is Rs. 60/-.


Marxian Classic Series


The chair has started to publish Malayalam Translation of Marxian classics. The chair have already published the malayalam translation ofDialectics of Nature by Frederic Engles. The second title in this series is Lenin's Imperialism, the Highest Stage of Capitalism is being printed.


Governing Body


                    • The Vice Chancellor (Chairman)
                    • The Registrar
                    • The Finance Officer
                    • Shri. P Asokan (Co-ordinater)
                    • Dr. T.K. Narayanan
                    • Shri. V. Stalin
                    • Dr. P.K. Pokker
                    • Dr. K. Sekharan


The period of the Governing Body will be for three years.